Alyce All-Stars Featuring Stella Woo

Vocalist, Sourdough queen, and native Alaskain, learn more about what makes Stella Woo a Personal Experience All Star!
Stella Woo Alyce All Star

About this program

The Alyce All-Stars program exists to highlight Alyce Customers and Friends who have mastered the art of “personal experience.”

An All-Star prioritizes Building Rapport, Earning Trust, and Generating Loyalty over making someone feel like just another face in the crowd.

All-Stars challenge the status quo and – while they’re not officially Alyce employees – we consider them an extension of our team. They find creative ways to infuse our core values of Give First, Give Consistently, Be Crafty, Seize the Present, and Unwrap the Possibility into their unique way of doing business.

This week’s All-Star is Stella Woo, Business Development Representative and Creator of #BDRAppreciationWeek at 6Sense!

 

Stella Woo Certified Alyce All-Star

Learn More About Stella Woo

Q: Share with us some of your personal interests?
Well, I love to sing. I started vocal lessons like a year and a half ago. And I was in a small jazz band in college. And so that’s a big interest of mine. Music has always been a really big part of my life. I also love artisanal breads but don’t love how expensive they are so I’m a big baker. I got into making sourdough before it was a big quarantine trend.

Q: What was your first AIM screen name or email address and what was the story behind it?
I think my first screen name was either a Hotmail or a MySpace account. And my cousins had made it for me when I was in elementary school. So it was something super, super generic. And then I forgot it. That’s my taste.

So I changed it to be just my name and maybe incorporated trees or the ocean in my username. I grew up in Alaska so it was thematic for my surroundings.

Q: What song is on repeat right now for you?
There is a singer songwriter called Kashi.

And he’s kind of like low-fi – I don’t really know what to call his genre but pretty much all of his songs I’m playing on repeat right now.

Q: As a child, what did you want to be when you grew up?
A singer, for sure.

Q: What’s your favorite thing about the place where you live? Why and how do you take advantage of it?
So growing up in Alaska, I lived really close to this park called Westchester lagoon. And it was this beautiful place. In the winter you can skate on the lagoon, and then once it melts you can take a kayak on the lagoon and it’s also connected to miles and miles of trails that just go from all sides.

And when I would be stressed or sad or happy, or just bored, I’d just take my bike and go ride on this trail for miles and miles. And I think it’s only recently that I realized, that’s such a good outlet for a child to have to go out in nature and feel safe.

Q: What would be the title of your first music album?
Green Ocean. I’m Korean and that’s kind of like the meaning behind my name.

So it sounds nice but also kind of random to other people but it would mean something to me, which would be nice.

Q: What’s something you consider yourself to be ok at but not great at?
Running. I never, never thought of myself as a runner, like during track in middle school I would be really happy if I didn’t come in last.

But now with the pandemic, that’s been a really nice outlet for me. It starts to get meditative once you stop thinking about trying to be faster.

Q: What is the best gift you have ever received?
I think the best gifts are the ones that you either didn’t know you wanted, or you did want but those kinds of things you don’t really want necessarily to buy for yourself.

One of those gifts for me was a pair of mittens I’d received. And I used them for like seven years because it was so cold. And I just remember every time I put on those mittens, I think of that person that gave them to me.

Q: Beach, safari, or forest vacation?
Beach and forest, so where I live now in the Bay Area does that pretty well for me.

Q: If you could give a piece of advice to your younger self, what would it be?
I feel like I’m still a baby, but honestly I don’t think there would’ve been any piece of advice that really helped me. I would have made the same mistakes and reached the same outcome, so I’d leave my younger self alone and just let her learn and experience.

Q: Would you rather be an olympic gold medalist or win a nobel prize? And why?
Definitely Nobel prize.

Actually another interest of mine is public education.

I did a lot of public ed policy and practice work in my undergrad studies and worked part time in a lot of schools. One day I think I’ll end back there as a public school teacher or in some sort of format so I’d want to receive the nobel prize in public education policy one day.

Q: Are you a morning person or a night owl? How do you like to start your day?
Night owl, I feel like I’m in my zone at 8pm and just keep going into the night.

Q: How did you meet your childhood best friend?
We met in third grade. Her first memory of me is that I was assigned to sit right in front of her and I kept kicking her leg because I was swinging my feet, they couldn’t touch the ground yet, and she was annoyed with me. We’re still friends today.

Q: If you could live through any event in history, what event would that be? Why would you want to live through that event?
Maybe I would just go back in time and be my same age in the early 2000’s but knowing that all the styles were going to come back in 20 years.

I’d stockpile my butterfly clips knowing they’d come in handy later.

 

March 26, 2021
Stacy O.